Wednesday, March 1, 2023

Copper Waters Review

Copper Waters (Annalisse Series #4)

By Marlene M. Bell

Genre: Mystery / Suspense

Age category: Adult

Release Date: 5 December 2022


A rural New Zealand vacation turns poisonous.

Antiquities expert Annalisse Drury and tycoon Alec Zavos are at an impasse in their relationship when Alec refuses to clear up a paternity issue with an ex-lover.

Frustrated with his avoidance when their future is at stake, Annalisse accepts an invitation from an acquaintance to fly to New Zealand—hoping to escape the recent turbulence in her life.

But even Annalisse’s cottage idyll on the family sheep farm isn’t immune to intrigue.

Alec sends a mutual friend and detective, Bill Drake, to follow her, and a local resident who accompanies them from the Christchurch airport dies mysteriously soon after. A second violent death finds Annalisse and Bill at odds with the official investigations.

The local police want to close both cases as quickly as possible—without unearthing the town’s dirty secrets.

As she and Bill pursue their own leads at serious cost, the dual mysteries force Annalisse to question everything she thought she knew about family ties, politics, and the art of small-town betrayal.


I received this book for a blog tour and then the author sent an email with a link to request Scattered Legacy for review and being Copper Waters is the 4th book in the Annalisse Series, I decided to request it so that review will come later as I plan on going back and read all 3 of the previous books.

Copper Waters gave me a taste of the author's writing style and enough introduction into the characters that I didn't feel like I was missing anything relevant to read the story out of order(although I do recommend checking out and reading all the series). The setting in New Zealand was a fresh breath of air into my imagination into a country I haven't seen in person, the characters were relatable and the plotline intriguing enough to keep me hooked. If you like mystery and crime solving stories this book is worth checking out. This isn't my usual genre but when I find a good one like this I'm all in!


- Goodreads: 

- Bookbub: 

- Amazon: 

- B&N: 

Earlier books in the series:

- Stolen Obsession (Annalisse Series #1): 

- Spent Identity (Annalisse Series #2): 

- Scattered Legacy (Annalisse Series #3):

About the Author:
Marlene M. Bell is an eclectic mystery writer, artist, photographer, and she raises sheep in beautiful East Texas with her husband, Gregg, three cats and a flock of horned Dorset sheep.  

The Annalisse series has received numerous honors including the Independent Press Award for Best Mystery (Spent Identity,) and FAPA— Florida Author’s President’s Gold Award for two other installments, (Stolen Obsession and Scattered Legacy.) Her mysteries with a touch of romance are found at She also offers the first of her children's picture books, Mia and Nattie: One Great Team! Based on true events from the Bell’s ranch. The simple text and illustrations are a touching tribute of compassion and love between a little girl and her lamb.

Author links:
- Website: 
- Facebook: 
- Twitter: 
- Bookbub: 
- Goodreads: 
- Amazon: 
- Instagram: 

No comments:

Post a Comment